The weather today was not going to stop me from doing some little changes around the house reminding the family that summer is just around the corner.  The first thing I wanted to tackle was the wreath on the front door.

I’ve had the same wreath up since Valentines Day.  I know…even my neighbors are tired of looking at it.   I  put a red heart in the center back in February and about mid-march I replaced the heart with a few Easter eggs and it’s been that way since.  I’m pretty sure that my closest neighbor would burn it off the front door if I went out and just put a yellow sun in the middle…..but I did consider it.

Since that wasn’t a real possibility, I got busy trying to decide what type of wreath I wanted to make and what theme for summer I wanted to use.  I also took into consideration the amount of money and time I wanted to spend on the entire project which for a first try project is usually right around $10.

I opted to create a peace sign wreath and use flowers for accents.  There were tons of inspiring photos online and I knew I could find all of the items I needed at the local dollar store. Nothing beats a great project on a dollar store budget!

Another reason I picked this particular wreath was I knew the project was wonderfully child friendly and since I was spending the day with my youngest daughter, it seemed fitting we would work on a craft together.

In order to create a wreath like mine, you will need:Peace Wreath Supplies.jpg

  • 10″ grapevine wreath form
  • 2-4 large silk flowers
  • 5-6 clusters of smaller accent flowers
  • 1 leaf garland about 10-12″ in length
  • small wire cutters
  • string/hemp/twine
  • a length of stick about 14-16″ in length and 1″ in width

So, I walked to the wood line on my street and looked around for a decent stick that I knew I could break with my hands and cleaned it off and added it to the project supply pile.

It’s best to start with the wrong side of the wreath facing up.  Take the stick and line it up from the top of the wreath all the way to the bottom (make sure that the ends don’t stick out past the wreath).

Take twine and attach the top of the stick to the top of the wreath, wrapping it around several times.  Secure with a knot and hide the ends.  Repeat for the bottom of the stick and wreath.  Make two smaller snaps in the stick to create the remainder of the peace symbol and attach them to the stick in the middle and the sides of the wreath using the twine the same way as before.

Now we get to create….

I kept the left side of the wreath bare in the beginning and started by wrapping the leaf garter from the top down the right side securing both ends inside the wreath.  Of course, this is a creative project, so don’t be afraid to make it your way.

Next we separated the smaller bunches of flowers by type and color.  Then I took the wire cutters (my daughter used the ones from my jewelry bead kit since they are smaller) and after pushing the leaves up as far as they would go on the stem, we clipped smaller bunches of flowers and stuck them in a few areas on the right side of the wreath.

I was lucky enough to find the four larger flowers with clips already attached, so I didn’t have to trim stems or wrangle them into a solid position.  I staggered three of the large flowers down the left side of the wreath and filled in the bare spots until the whole thing met with my daughter’s satisfaction.  She decided in order to judge properly, she would have to wear the fourth flower clipped in her hair for the rest of the afternoon.

I think it turned out beautifully!!  I would have photographed it on Peace Wreath.jpgmy front door, but I have ugly door issues, so it’s an indoor shot for now.

I hope you consider the peace wreath for your summer door décor.   If you decide to make one I would love to see  your finished results.

 

